top of page

Getting Found by Great Clients

3 months, going 4. That's how long I've been in the online industry as a Virtual Assistant. I have so far achieved what I was aiming for when I started as a VA: flexible time and working at home, and I say the journey wasn't easy peasy. Instead, it was a heck of a journey! It still is. I can't say I've gotten used to it already. I'm glad though that most of my long term clients are the kind that you can call "Great Clients". They were understanding, they did not pressure me, they were patient with such a beginner like me, and they helped me learn many things that'll aid me in my future endeavours. One of my client actually talked about me in one of their podcast episodes and it went like this:

"We have a virtual assistant that helps us with this podcast and she's amazing and she's half-way around the world! I think all the way around the world. Isn't she? She's amazing and she helps us edit the video and do a tremendous amount of work to get this podcast out to you."

Isn't it encouraging to read or hear how your clients think of you helping them? It's our job, but it still feels nice being recognised after all the effort you put into something. Great clients aren't that easy to come by though. As much as we want all our clients to be ALL GOOD and GREAT and UNDERSTANDING, they can't always be described as such. Sometimes, they can be the complete opposite. And I've had my fair share of those kind of clients. But then again, my great clients outweigh those who weren't.

It's easy for this question to arise: HOW DO WE GET FOUND BY GREAT CLIENTS? You know, one thing I'm sure is that it's not because of pure luck. For one, to be found isn't always the case. And two, clients are not all great. It can go on for months without any client answering your proposals. What more having clients reach out to you? Or you can get so many invites to apply from clients here and there, but you can't find a client that fits you. Now let me share some tips to increase the possibility of getting found by great clients.

1.) Build Your Online Profile. This is how I started. I created this blog, signed up for UpWork and Outsourcely and all the other sites where Freelancers go to look for a job. And it doesn't just stop there. After signing up, I spent hours and days and sometimes even weeks building up my profile. Having a good profile means having a professional photo which is consistent in all your accounts, drafting a good summary about you and your experiences, showcasing your strengths and skills by adding your portfolio and taking tests, and the list goes on. You can go on Google and search for blogs and other resources that will actually give you a good grip of things that you can do.

2.) Start Small. There can be loads of job postings out there with really good pay. But as a beginner, don't just focus on those ideal jobs or positions you are aiming for. Learn to humble down and accept those small tasks. Sometimes the pay isn't really palatable, but no matter how small that task may be, or how low the offer is, apply! If accepted, do a good job and make the client happy. These experiences will grow and put in a good word for you out there. Then you will end up thanking yourself.

3.) Have the Courage to Click that Apply Button. Sometimes when you're not sure you can do something, you disregard it. You don't want to waste any of your energy on it. I would say, go and waste your energy! In this online industry, all it actually takes is a short application letter and courage to click that one button that says APPLY. Few minutes + courage. It won't cost you anything more. If you didn't get noticed, so what? You can move on to the next job on the list that fits with your unique genius. But what if you're just what they're looking for? And you didn't apply. You can just go to the corner and cry. Don't let yourself be haunted by those endless WHAT IF'S. Just do it.

4.) Don't Lose Hope. There will certainly be times you will feel like nothing is happening. And that's usually when people who tried this industry gives up. Don't be one of them. Just keep on clicking that Apply Button, and you will eventually hit the jackpot one day. Not only once, but it can be several times! Find a way to encourage yourself to be patient, to not lose hope, and to just keep on trying. Think of ways to improve your profile, work on your application letter, and so on. It will surely come. It took me several months before I got my first client. But with where I am now, I am so glad I didn't give up.

These 4 tips are just some of the many things that can guide you in your journey as a Virtual Assistant or a Freelancer in this Online Industry. Be creative in checking out the many resources made available to you on the Internet.

Remember, we all have our own journey and success story. Let yours unfold!

VA by Joanna Macatiog

Checking out the first ever MacBook Pro I owned. Given to me by one of my GREAT CLIENTS! YAY!

bottom of page