top of page

Freelancing: Pursuing a Family-friendly Career


Professional Virtual Assistant, Bungee Jump, Affordable assistant

Have you ever tried riding a roller coaster? Or done a bungee jump, maybe? Are you familiar with the doubt before launching? How about the exhilarating feeling after you have launched? Familiar, right? Those were exactly the same feelings I had when, in the middle of our saving up for the wedding, I plunged into the world of freelancing. Not that I planned from the beginning to abruptly get myself out of my stable day job and into freelancing. Somehow, things just changed and the circumstances led me into choosing between keeping the temporary versus pursuing the long term.

My Experience in Pursuing a Freelancing Career

For an independent person like me, a big decision such as “to quit or not to quit my job”, is not something I take lightly. Having no job means no cash! And for the love of life, I know how difficult it is to not have cash to buy food or pay rent. Especially when you’re trying to thrive in the metro where “neighbors” don’t mean like they do in my hometown. I needed money to survive and more money to pay for my dream wedding. (Weddings nowadays is more about teamwork rather than the groom taking charge in paying for everything – except of course for the luckier ones. But mind you, I am already extremely blessed.)

Considering the wedding, I couldn’t quit my job. I thought I’d just spend more months there to help with saving up for the big day. Then somewhere somehow, came the opportunity to learn and do Freelance Virtual Assistance. The concept of it WOW-ed me in such a grave way, I wasn’t able to get over it! Every single morning I needed to get up early to go to work, I fantasized about doing freelance instead - working at home in my pajamas, drinking a cup of hot coffee, comfortably sitting however I want… “Aaah! I want that!” I thought to myself. At first it was purely about having a comfortable working environment. But later on, after playing with the idea in mind, I realized that it would be a better idea to start pursuing something that I can see myself doing in the next 5-10 years compared to sticking with a job I didn’t really plan on keeping long enough. Don’t you think that made sense? Is it just me or does keeping the temporary job really means wasting precious time investing on something I’ll eventually give up? Besides, I thought, “wouldn’t it be nice if by the time that I start my own family, I have already established my profile as a Virtual Assistant/Freelancer? In that way, I can continue with a “career”, while at the same time, still being a dedicated WIFE and MOM.”

Risky as it is, I decided it’s worth pursuing a family-friendly career now than later.

Decision to go Freelance: A Long Term and Family-Friendly Career Goal

Even amidst all the doubts and what-if scares, I chose pursuing the long term goal than getting stuck with what’s only temporary. The desire to invest as early as now for a career that will thrive even when I have a family of my own, mattered more. It was stronger. I did feel sick in my tummy after I ditched my day job to plunge into the unknown world of freelancing. Similar feeling you get taking off from the platform to do a bungee jump. Who wouldn’t? But I tell you, now that I have finally launched, I am experiencing this beautiful and exhilarating feeling as I trust God to unfold things according to His plan. The path that I chose is teaching me day by day, moment by moment, to trust and let be. Living my life in full abandon as I pursue something that my heart has been telling me to go after. Because even from the start, my dream above all career out there, is to become a loving and caring wife and mom to my family. I’m all out in becoming that family-dedicated person!

Right now, I may still be facing challenges here and there, but in the core of me, I am happy and free.

If you are faced with a similar dilemma right now, I suggest that you don’t let doubts cripple you. Take the bungee jump if needed be, and go after what your heart is telling you!

Cheers to everyone pursuing a family-friendly career as an investment to a better society!

bottom of page